According to reports citing e-SPRINTO, the company plans to launch its G1 family electric scooter in India on 13 Oct 2026, with a claimed riding range of up to 130 km on a single charge. The announcement matters to Indian electric-scooter buyers because the brand is moving from its established business-to-business work into the consumer market, but the price and most ownership-critical specifications are still pending.
The launch date and range claim were reported by HT Auto, Autocar Professional and TOI Auto between 7 and 9 Oct 2026. As of 10 Oct 2026, the company has not disclosed the G1's battery capacity, motor output, charging time, top speed, variants, price or retail availability. The hero image for this article is an illustrative editorial visual of a generic family electric scooter, not an official photograph of the e-SPRINTO G1.
Key takeaways
- The e-SPRINTO G1 is scheduled for an India launch on 13 Oct 2026.
- The manufacturer claims up to 130 km of riding range on one charge.
- The G1 will be e-SPRINTO's move into the B2C electric two-wheeler market.
- Price, battery size, charging time, motor output and availability are not confirmed yet.
- The 130 km figure should be treated as a company claim until the test method and final specifications are published.
What e-SPRINTO has confirmed
The G1 is being positioned as a family-focused, high-speed electric scooter for daily commuting. Autocar Professional reported on 7 Oct 2026 that the model would be unveiled on 13 Oct 2026 and would offer a claimed 130 km range. HT Auto, in its report dated 9 Oct 2026, also described the G1 as e-SPRINTO's entry into the consumer electric-scooter market.
That distinction is important. A launch announcement confirms the company's product direction and the date on which more information is expected; it does not confirm a final on-road price, delivery schedule or the availability of a booking window. Those details remain to be announced at the unveiling.
What the 130 km claim does — and does not — tell buyers
The headline range figure is useful as an initial positioning point, but it cannot yet be used as a complete running-cost or trip-planning number. TOI Auto reported on 7 Oct 2026 that e-SPRINTO had not disclosed the battery capacity or the test cycle behind the 130 km claim. That means the figure should not be presented as an independently verified real-world range or automatically treated as an ARAI-certified result.
Actual distance between charges can vary with rider weight, speed, traffic, gradients, weather, tyre pressure, battery age and the use of lights or other electrical systems. Once the battery size is known, owners will be able to estimate energy use more meaningfully. Until then, a comparison based only on kilometres per charge would leave out the two figures that matter most for day-to-day ownership: electricity consumed and charging time.
For a practical comparison with a petrol commuter, readers can use the fuel cost calculator for the equivalent petrol distance, then compare that result with the G1's eventual electricity consumption. This is a comparison framework, not a promise of savings.
Why the B2B-to-B2C move matters
e-SPRINTO has so far been associated mainly with commercial and fleet use. The company's official LinkedIn updates in early October 2026 signalled a move from serving business journeys towards individual and family mobility, and the independent reports identify the G1 as the first consumer-focused step.
Fleet experience can provide useful feedback about frequent riding and Indian road conditions, but it does not by itself establish how a new consumer model will perform for private owners. The G1's eventual price, warranty terms, service reach, spare-parts availability, battery support and resale prospects will determine whether the transition works for family buyers.
What to check when the scooter is unveiled
Battery and charging information
Look for the usable battery capacity, charger rating, claimed charging duration and whether the battery is removable or swappable. Buyers who cannot charge at home will also need to check nearby public options through the EV charging station directory. The number of public chargers is less useful than knowing whether a dependable point is close to the regular parking location.
The home-versus-public EV charging cost guide explains why the electricity tariff and charging location can matter as much as the scooter's range claim. The G1's ownership calculation should wait until its battery and charging details are official.
Performance and safety details
The launch should clarify motor output, top speed, riding modes, kerb weight, braking hardware, tyre sizes, ground clearance, storage space and the vehicle's certification status. These details affect whether the scooter is suited to a short urban commute, a two-up family ride or a longer inter-city route.
Price, support and availability
Price should be read alongside the warranty for the vehicle and battery, service intervals, parts coverage and delivery location. A low introductory price would not answer the ownership question if service access or battery support is limited. Booking terms, delivery timing and state-wise availability also need to be separated from the 13 Oct launch announcement.
What changes now and what to watch next
Nothing changes for current e-SPRINTO owners or other electric-scooter users on the basis of this pre-launch announcement. The next meaningful update is the 13 Oct 2026 unveiling, when the company is expected to publish the G1's price, variants, specifications and retail plan. Until then, the 130 km figure is a reported manufacturer claim, not a complete basis for a purchase or trip decision.
For longer journeys, the road-trip planner can help map the route and charging stops once the scooter's verified range and charging time are available. The useful reader takeaway is to keep the G1 on a watchlist for the launch details, while judging the finished product on battery data, support and total running requirements rather than on the range headline alone.
Sources
- HT Auto, “e-Sprinto G1 Family electric scooter to launch in India on October 13, claims 130 km range” (9 Oct 2026)
- Autocar Professional, “e-SPRINTO to Launch G1 Electric Scooter on October 13” (7 Oct 2026)
- TOI Auto, “e-Sprinto G1 Electric Scooter To Launch On October 13 With 130 Km Claimed Range” (7 Oct 2026)
- e-SPRINTO, official company updates (1–9 Oct 2026)