The Allahabad High Court has ordered Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. to pay ₹5 lakh under the Mukhyamantri Kisan Evam Sarvahit Bima Yojana to an unmarried woman whose brother died in a road accident. In its judgment delivered on 26 Oct 2026, the court held that her absence from the scheme’s family-member list did not bar her from receiving the accidental-death benefit as a legal heir.
The decision matters to families dealing with road-accident insurance claims because it separates two questions that are often read together: who is covered for an insured person’s own accident or medical treatment, and who may receive the benefit after the insured head or breadwinner dies. The High Court’s answer was based on the wording of this Uttar Pradesh scheme and the facts before it, not on a new nationwide insurance rule.
Key takeaways
- The Allahabad High Court delivered the ruling on 26 Oct 2026 in Writ-C No. 28051 of 2023.
- The court said an unmarried sister is not disqualified from receiving the death benefit solely because she is not separately listed as a covered family member.
- The ₹5 lakh payment is tied to the scheme’s accidental-death clause for the insured head or breadwinner and to the claimant’s status as nominee or legal heir.
- Oriental Insurance was directed to pay within four weeks after production of a certified copy of the judgment, with the District Magistrate, Basti, asked to facilitate payment.
- The ruling does not automatically make every sibling eligible under every life, personal-accident or motor-insurance policy.
The dispute behind the claim
The full Allahabad High Court judgment records that the petitioner’s brother died in a road accident on 18 May 2019. She said that, after the death of their parents, he cultivated the family’s agricultural land and was the head and breadwinner of the household. She was unmarried and dependent on him.
The insurance period under the agreement covered 14 Sep 2018 to 13 Sep 2019, so the accident fell within the stated period. The woman submitted a claim for the insured amount, but Oriental Insurance rejected it on 3 Oct 2019 because a sister was not included in the memorandum of understanding’s definition of family. A Basti district committee later considered the claim and directed payment after reviewing a sub-divisional magistrate’s report, but the insurer maintained its rejection in a communication dated 16 Apr 2021.
The insurer argued that the scheme and policy listed the head or breadwinner, spouse, unmarried daughter, dependent son and specified dependent parents, but not a sister. It said the committee could not direct payment outside those contractual categories. The High Court therefore had to decide whether the family-composition list also limited the people who could receive a death benefit after the insured breadwinner’s death.
Why the court read the two clauses separately
The judgment says the scheme has separate parts. The personal-accident section protects the head or breadwinner against accidental death or disability. A different section extends post-accident medical and artificial-limb benefits to the head or breadwinner and the covered family members listed in the agreement.
For accidental death, the scheme required the insurer to pay the full insured amount to the nominee or legal heir. The court held that this payment clause does not add an extra condition that the nominee or legal heir must also appear in the family-composition list. In other words, the people whose own accident or medical treatment is insured are not necessarily identical to the people who can receive the insured amount after the breadwinner dies.
The judges also noted that the record did not show a competing heir or a separate succession dispute. The petitioner could therefore establish entitlement as a legal heir without relying only on the description of herself as a nominee. The High Court quashed the rejection and ordered the ₹5 lakh payment, while making clear that its finding did not expand the categories of people whose own injuries or treatment are insured under the scheme.
What this means for road-accident claims
For policyholders and families, the useful point is not that a sibling will always win a claim. It is that the exact payment clause, the insured event and the claimant’s legal status must be read together. A policy may distinguish between the person insured, the family members who receive medical cover and the nominee or legal heir who receives a death benefit.
This is also different from the recent Hassan road-accident insurance claim ruling, where the reported dispute concerned an expired driving licence and the cause of the crash. Both cases involve claim rejection after a road death, but they turn on different policy questions. A decision in one fact pattern should not be treated as a general answer for all motor or personal-accident claims.
The High Court’s order is particularly relevant to households where one person is recorded as the breadwinner and another family member may have to claim after a fatal accident. It does not remove the need to prove the accident, the insured person’s status, the policy period or the claimant’s legal-heir position. Where rival heirs are involved, a succession certificate or other documents may still be required under the policy and the applicable law.
What to keep in an insurance claim file
The case also shows why a written policy file matters. The car insurance policy document guide explains where readers can find the insured event, cover period, exclusions, nominee details and claim procedure. Even when the policy is a bank-linked accident product or a government-backed scheme, those same categories help identify what is being claimed.
- Policy and payment records: preserve the policy schedule, certificate, premium or enrolment proof and any document naming the insured person.
- Accident records: keep the FIR, death certificate, medical or post-mortem records and any police or administrative report that identifies the accident and the deceased.
- Relationship and succession records: retain nominee details, legal-heir documents and any revenue or household record relevant to the breadwinner question.
- Claim correspondence: keep the original claim, the insurer’s written rejection, committee or grievance decisions and proof of when each document was submitted.
If a motor-insurance claim is rejected, the car insurance claim rejection guide covers the difference between a missing-document issue, a policy exclusion and a disagreement about the evidence. The High Court’s decision reinforces why the written reason for rejection matters: the insurer’s interpretation must match the clause it relies on.
What changes now
The immediate change is case-specific. Oriental Insurance has been directed to pay ₹5 lakh within four weeks from production of a certified copy of the judgment, and the District Magistrate, Basti, is to facilitate payment under the scheme’s claim procedure. The order does not say that the money has already been paid.
For other policyholders, the ruling is a reminder to distinguish a legal-heir payment from eligibility for one’s own accident or medical treatment. The outcome will still depend on the policy wording, the date and cause of the accident, the documents available and whether another person contests succession. It should be read as a clarification of this scheme’s contract, not as a promise of payment in every similar-looking case.
Illustration: an unbranded insurance claim file beside a rural road and farm setting; AI-generated editorial visual, not a photograph of the reported claimant, court or accident.
Sources
- The Indian Express — Brother dies in road accident, Allahabad High Court allows sister’s Rs 5 lakh insurance plea — 28 Oct 2026
- LiveLaw — Kisan Bima Yojana: Unmarried Sister Can Claim Accidental Death Benefit As Legal Heir Even If Not Listed As Family Member — 27 Oct 2026
- Allahabad High Court — Km. Vidyawati v. State of U.P. and 4 others, Writ-C No. 28051 of 2023, judgment delivered 26 Oct 2026
This article is for general information only and is not financial, insurance or legal advice.